Lions seemed to have Dak Prescott sacked for safety, but a replay overruled it
Should a first quarter sack by the Lions been ruled a safety?
When Dallas Cowboys quarterback Dak Prescott was hit and then tackled in his end zone, it seemed like a clear safety for the Detroit Lions.
The replay review official didn't see it that way.
Lions fans have had issues with officials in the past during Cowboys games, and they had another gripe on Thursday night. In the first quarter of a 3-3 games, Prescott went back to pass on third down and linebacker Jack Campbell was on top of him right away. Prescott had no choice but to duck and take the hit, which seemed to come inside the end zone.
A safety was called, and Amazon Prime Video rules analyst Terry McAulay said he believed it was a safety. It wasn't. The replay was reviewed and it was ruled that the entire football was outside of the end zone when he was hit.
This was ruled a safety for the Lions on the field but overturned to a sack after review... pic.twitter.com/oSCIKgLI1t— Rate the Refs (@Rate_the_Refs) December 5, 2025
The safety was overturned and the Cowboys punted. Before the commercial break, McAulay said he didn't agree with the call. But after the break he did say that the angle that was used for the replay center in New York, which was right down the line, it looked like the ball was out of the end zone.
"From this angle, they did get it correct," McAulay said.
This safety call was overturned, forcing the #Cowboys to punt and no two points for the #Lions.
Was this a safety? pic.twitter.com/8G9Z4V2qSF— BenJarmin Munguia (@JustJarmin) December 5, 2025
That explanation won't help Lions fans, who will feel their team was robbed of two points.
What's Your Reaction?